Bookworms Book Reviews January 2017 Edition

0
four-stars

I do declare 2017 is flying by. I have had a lot going on the homefront lately! I’ve been having loads of time to work on a good many adult coloring projects as I wait for the kids to answer their quiz and test questions as I homeschool them. I have also had time to read books since there has been a good bit of waiting on things too. I have had VERY little time to work on the computer since November 2016. However, I’m hoping and praying that changes very soon! I have loads I want to share with you that are worth mentioning!

Now let’s get to the book reviews from January 2017. I hope you find a book well worth adding to your to-read list.

Bookworms Book Reviews

Bookworms Book Reviews January 2017 EditionFaith in Every Footstep Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

On the eve of one of mankind's toughest races, accompanied by thirteen of America's rarest dog breed, rookie musher Kyle Walker only has one thought in mind: win. Discovered in the lowlands of South Carolina, the Carolina grays have traveled over five thousand miles to face off in the 2003 Yukon Quest. But one dog stands above the rest--King.

When an unexpected storm strikes, Kyle Walker and the reigning champion are forced to turn back. Stranded at the checkpoint, Kyle and his dogs find solace in a young veterinarian with auburn hair and keen green eyes--Jenna Maynor.

In this storm another race is forming, one of an Inuit man racing to save his family. Presented with the choice to help, but at the risk of his and his dogs' lives, Kyle Walker ventures into the unknown in search of a mom and two young daughters.

The Yukon Quest was founded on the premise that a dog driver and his team should be a self-sufficient unit capable of challenging varied terrain and severe weather. But these conditions may prove to be too much, even for Kyle and King.

(Note: Even though this is book 1 of the series, it can be interchanged with book 2 and vice versa)

My Review

I got Faith in Every Step to review from Flyby Promotions in exchange for an honest review. 

This book was about Kyle Walker’s journey with his grays. It was a book that is filled with adventure and human kindness. I did feel this book was a bit long to get into. I feel like the author didn’t have a strong ability to write descriptive enough to allow me to create a picture of Kyle’s eventful adventure. (Which is a weakness of mine as well, and I feel that’s why I can pinpoint this issue so easily.) I do feel that by the time you get to the ending you’ve invested enough time reading it that you want to know what happens.

 

Bookworms Book Reviews January 2017 EditionLiked: Whose approval are you living for? Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

For many girls it starts early. The desire to be perfect. The need for approval. The longing for acceptance and being liked by a lot of people.

Thanks to social media, these desires now get channeled online. Girls can curate an image, build a following, and test-drive identities until they find one that draws attention and applause.

But in this quest to be liked and noticed, girls often fail to feel loved and known. The result is a generation of girls who hunger for real and authentic relationships - yet are unclear on how to create them.

From popular blogger and bestselling author Kari Kampakis comes a powerful book for girls in the digital age. Designed to empower teens and tweens through the Christian faith, it's packed with godly wisdom and practical advice related to identity, friendships, social media, and a relationship with God.

Topics covered include:
Living for God's approval, not human approval;
Cultivating a true identity;
Using social media wisely;
Building a positive reputation online;
Spreading kindness, love, and compassion;
Distinguishing online friends from real friends;
Building deep connections that last;
Handling rejection, criticism, and volatile emotions;
Activating your Christian faith; and
Making an eternal difference, not a temporary splash.
For anyone exhausted by the quest to impress - and ready to rest in God's unconditional love - Liked is the answer. Written succinctly with thought-provoking questions, it's an ideal resource for a small group or youth group study, and a conversation-starter that will quickly unite mothers, daughters, sisters, and friends by speaking to the female heart.

My Review

I review for BookLook BloggersI got Liked: Whose approval are you living for? from BookLook Bloggers program in exchange for an honest review; however, all thoughts and opinions are my own. 

 

 

I feel that this is a book that everyone can truly benefit from reading. Kari clearly wrote this for the teenage girls in our society, but it is filled with many wonderful reminders that it seems that many of us forget. We are swarmed with so many people and things making us feel like we have to do so many things to fit in or be considered someone. I know I’ve been guilty of worrying so much about gaining new followers and increasing my popularity online to the point that I’ve let my family and friends take a back seat. Since June of 2016, I made the vital decision that my priorities were quite messed up. This book was just a final reminder that I made the correct decision.

I love blogging and do pray that this blog will grow like my last one and even be better. However, I’m NOT willing to sacrifice savoring every moment I can with my family and friends. They are coming first, hence, why I don’t blog every single day anymore. I don’t spend all day online. To be honest, we are a lot happier for it. I do hope to gain a bit more time online soon, but that’s a matter of learning how to juggle everything a bit better.

I’m not seeking to gain many likes anymore. I’m seeking to make a positive difference in someone’s life hopefully! I sincerely want to help my readers to be able to have more fun with their families and carve out time for themselves too. If you feel like you have to in the spot light and struggle with feeling like you’re worth something then you truly need to read this book!

This book has made me eager to check out Kari’s blog at www.karikampakis.com because she is a woman on a mission to help girls feel better about themselves.

Bookworms Book Reviews January 2017 EditionWrite Me Home (Home In You Book 1) Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

He lives by his heart. She lives by her plans. Until an unseen enemy and a growing attraction threaten control of both.

Returning to his hometown in the Catskills is the last thing firefighter Ethan DeLuca's ready for. He'd rather leave memories where they belong--buried under ashes. But if he doesn't step up to take care of Nonna, who will? Working at the camp down the road seems like the perfect solution. Until his feisty redheaded boss ends up being one fire he has no idea how to put out.

Cassidy McAdams is on a mission. Get the camp Grandpa left her ready to sell, turn enough profit to bail Mom's business out of foreclosure, and hightail it back to her life in New York City. With unexpected complications mounting, she can't afford any distractions. Especially a ridiculously charming one who's eager to rescue her at every turn.

It'd be easier on them both to hide behind professional boundaries. But when unexplained attacks on the camp ignite a connection between them they can't ignore, running away is no longer an option.

If you like emotional romances mixed with humor, depth, and characters who come alive on the page, then you'll love Crystal Walton's moving story of love and forgiveness.

Download Write Me Home today to enjoy a summertime escape to the Catskill mountains, where romance and suspense weave a heartwarming tale that'll have you turning pages until the end.

Categories/Themes:
Contemporary Sweet Clean Romance
Clean & Wholesome Romance
Inspirational Romantic Suspense
Second Chance Romance
Firefighter Hero Romance

My Review

Write Me Home is one of the books that I owned. I wanted to be sure that I read a book from my wide collection of e-books to ensure I did my own reading challenge.

This was a fantastic choice because it was a superb book. It was a book that I could read in short order and relish over every word of it. The author made me feel like I was there with all of the main characters in their small town. Yes, if a book has the setting of a small town it seems to become a favorite of mine rather quickly. I guess that’s because it’s so easy for me to picture what the setting looks like. I can determine what the characters would truly look like too.

This is a wholesome romance that many women would be glad that they got. I’m looking forward to reading Begin Again to find out what happens with Ti.

Bookworms Book Reviews January 2017 EditionTwo by Two Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

#1 New York Times bestselling author Nicholas Sparks returns with an emotionally powerful story of unconditional love, its challenges, its risks and most of all, its rewards.

At 32, Russell Green has it all: a stunning wife, a lovable six year-old daughter, a successful career as an advertising executive and an expansive home in Charlotte. He is living the dream, and his marriage to the bewitching Vivian is the center of that. But underneath the shiny surface of this perfect existence, fault lines are beginning to appear...and no one is more surprised than Russ when he finds every aspect of the life he took for granted turned upside down. In a matter of months, Russ finds himself without a job or wife, caring for his young daughter while struggling to adapt to a new and baffling reality. Throwing himself into the wilderness of single parenting, Russ embarks on a journey at once terrifying and rewarding-one that will test his abilities and his emotional resources beyond anything he ever imagined.

My Review

I’m an enormous Nicholas Sparks fan! I couldn’t wait to get this one from the library to devour it. I read this entire 400+ page book in ONE weekend! I literally curled up in the book nook section of my woman cave and kept my nose buried in this book. My kids didn’t believe me when I told them I’d have it done in one weekend. Then when they saw me with my nose in it the whole weekend every chance I got they didn’t doubt me anymore.

This book is unlike any other Nicholas Spark’s book. Yet, it still had his touch to it. I will warn you now make sure you have a tissue box with you when you read it. This book was one that I could relate to from beginning to end. Considering some of the things going on here on the home front it shook me to the core too at the same time.

Even if you’re not a Nicholas Sparks fan, I feel you’ll find this to be a book merit to spend time reading.

I did read some other books this month, but honestly, I couldn’t get into them enough to even want to write a review about them. If you want to know what they were then you’ll have to my letter that I pray I’ll be able to get out this week to my online friends.

Which one of these books are you adding to your to-read list?

 

Books Mentioned Today:

Should you purchase these books using the links below you do help to support this blog, and we appreciate it more than we can express in words. 

Products from Amazon.com

 

four-stars

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CommentLuv badge